Look Ma! I can cook!

I have a new obsession. It’s called cooking classes.

Yes. You heard me correctly. I want to try delicious new foods and learn how to cook them!

I though now, the night before my first test, would be the best time to tell you about my experience!

My University of Maryland program took us to a place called Cook and Taste Barcelona, a relatively large culinary space in the windy streets of the Barrio Gotic.

We start right away after we put on our aprons.  It’s going to cook a long time to prepare everything. I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many vegetables used in one meal, ever. But, that’s probably because I’m a meat and potatoes( carbs) kind of gal.

Now, these cooking classes are fun because everyone chips in and does a little bit of this, a little of that. I was responsible for the dessert primarily (Crema Catalana) but made sure to do a little dicing and cutting.

IMG_7114
After I separated the egg whites, Crema Catalan was coming along!
IMG_7116
Candids are necessary.

It’s like pudding, but better!

IMG_7123
She had to cut the pepper so small!
IMG_7125
the huge paella pan and all the veggies that had to be chopped next to it
Sarah, our official chef assisting with the chicken.
Sarah, our official chef assisting with the chicken.
IMG_7127
THE PAELLA
Portioning the Romesco Sauce
Portioning the Romesco Sauce

This sauce is freaking amazing! It was hard to make though. We really had to dissect the garlic, big time. But if you insist I make it for you, I might just have to give it a shot. I devoured that asparagus like no body’s business. Smother anything in that romesco sauce and I will eat it.

WHO THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA TO GIVE ME A BLOW TORCH?
WHO THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA TO GIVE ME A BLOW TORCH?
IMG_7142
It turned out ‘aight!


I’m totally kicking myself right now because I forgot to take a photo of my absolute favorite thing of the night- the tortilla de patatas con pan con tamate translated as Potato omelet and bread with tomato.

Yes mom, you heard that right, I ate an omelet and it was delicious! It was more potato than egg, and that’s the perfect proportion for me.

The bread was like this crunchy rustic bread with half of a tomato literally pulverized on each slice, finished off with a little drizzle of olive oil and salt. Sublime!

I guess I should go study now. I have a busy next couple of days ahead of me.

I don’t know if I’ll ever cook a meal this elaborate on my own from scratch anytime soon, but the effort was completely worthwhile, that and the refreshing glass of vino I got to wash my paella down with! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Look Ma! I can cook!”

Leave a Reply

