I Survived Spring Break 2015

So, If I decided to write a post about my spring break, it would probably take as long as my vacation to write it. And let me tell you, this “break” was no vacation but a marathon of traveling. Let me paint a picture: 6 countries in 11 days. That old adage there is no sleep for the weary or wicked is true. There is no sleep (or rest) for the student traveler. Nevermind, that wherever I went, the rain came too.

That said, my immune system suffered dearly.

So, I have decided to sum my experience up for you with two photos from each city.

Prague, Czech Republic 

DSC_0103
Swans by the Famous Charles Bridge
DSC_0122
Yes, these two men are peeing fountains. And the water is 100% drinkable. Bonus: This display is next to the Franz Kafka Museum

Highlight: Easter Market in Old Town and Public Works of “Art”

Berlin, Germany

DSC_0241
Constant construction and regrowth in Berlin
DSC_0261
Between the Berlin Wall. East Side and the West Side

Highlight: The Holocaust Memorial almost brought me to tears, and the Doner Kebab

Amsterdam, Holland

DSC_0302
Bikes, Canals, and Narrow homes!
DSC_0338
What’s a trip to Amsterdam without a pose with the “D”! IAMSTERDAM

Highlight: Van Gogh Museum, the Heinken Experience Canal Cruise, The Atmosphere and STROOPWAFEL

DSC_0353
So pretty!

Brussels, Belgium

DSC_0365
Europe has a fascination with peeing boys.

Highlight: With only three short hours, it would have to be the strawberry and banana waffle with warm chocolate drizzled over it. It was devoured before I remembered to take a photo.

Paris, France

DSC_0375
CHEERS TO PARIS
DSC_0497
Versailles

Highlight: I return to the city of lights! Loved the Musee d’Orsay- filled with impressionist masterpieces by Claude Monet and spectacular sculptures, Versailles, and of course, the Macaroons from Laduree!

So what was my favorite city? It’s a toss up. But, I would have to say Amsterdam because it is like nothing I have ever seen before. It’s like an adult fantasyland with idyllic homes and calming canals while all sorts of debauchery and fun are encouraged. Where else in the world can you hit up a coffee shop then indulge in the secrets of the red light district? No where.

But please, I wish Spring Break 2015 never came to an end. It was long and short at the same time. An exhausting whirlwind of new experiences. I loved every minute of it!

Now, I have returned to the grind, with finals week and my return home rapidly approaching the horizon. Oh my!

*All photos were taken by me!

One thought on “I Survived Spring Break 2015”

Leave a Reply

